Maryland Auto Insurance

In the state of Maryland, all drivers are required to carry auto insurance in the state to satisfy financial responsibility laws that are mandated by the Maryland Insurance Administration. Because most drivers in the state cannot afford to self-insurance, drivers are required to comply by purchasing liability auto insurance, uninsured motorist, and Personal Injury Protection. In addition to the required coverage options, drivers may also purchase physical damage coverage that will pay to repair the insured vehicle if it is damaged because of a covered claim.

Maryland Auto Insurance

Minimum Coverage Requirements in Maryland

Liability

Drivers in Maryland must carry liability coverage to protect themselves when they have caused an accident and cause injuries or damages. In addition to paying for damages and injuries, liability will pay for a lawyer to defend you if you are sued. Liability consists of two separate coverage options: Bodily Injury and Property Damage. The limits of these coverage options are as follows:

– Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
– Property Damage: $15,000 per accident

Uninsured Motorist

Uninsured Motorist coverage will cover the injuries you and your passengers sustain if someone without insurance hits you. This coverage will also pay if the person who causes the accident does not have enough liability coverage to pay for the injuries sustained. It will also pay to repair your vehicle, especially if you do not have full coverage. Statistics show that approximately 12% of drivers on the road have no insurance even though it is a requirement. This is why UM is required in the state. Uninsured Motorist requirements are as follows:

– Bodily Injury: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
– Property Damage: $15,000 per accident

Personal Injury Protection

If you have been injured in an accident, PIP will reimburse you for your medical expenses and for lost wages, and will also reimburse family members and passengers if they are not rejected. While most states do not require PIP, Maryland is one of the few that does. Each policyholder must carry at least $2500 per person in PIP coverage.

Failing to carry mandatory insurance coverage options that are required in Maryland can land you in hot water. Not only can you be cited when you do not carry insurance, you may also have your registration suspended, your license suspended, or your vehicle impounded. Be sure to build the right policy, satisfy state laws, and get peace of mind in knowing you are protected.